Butterflies

“All I knew this morning when I woke is I know something now, know something now I didn’t before.

And all I’ve seen since eighteen hours ago is green eyes and freckles and your smile

In the back of my mind making me feel like…

I just wanna know you better,I just wanna know you,

And all I feel in my stomach is butterflies,

The beautiful kind, making up for lost time, taking flight, making me feel right.”

The lyrics up above are some from one of my favorite songs. For the exception of the green eyes and the freckles (because you have brown eyes and no freckles), this describes how I am feeling about YOU. 

What started out as running-inside joke between coworkers because we thought you were looked pretty good has started to now feel out to having feelings for you. Or I don’t know, an infatuation with you.I would love to be able to say that you like me back, of course, just like every other girl would with any boy that she has liked. However, that is not the case, or rather, it is neither confirmed or denied how you actually feel about me. When I do see you, we sit next to each other, we stare at each other (stolen glances, super romantic already right?), laugh at each other’s jokes and share smiles.

You even said that I was sweet…making moves already? ha, well no more that is just you being nice. Which is a quality that I like about you. You are nice, calm, polite, a southern gentleman, can make me laugh…dang, you already have me swooning over you. 

And, that’s how you have already completed me. By balancing me out.

So now, I have been praying and putting any type of potential relationship that may develop in God’s hands. We must be patient and wait to be together. But that doesn’t mean we cannot become friends and get to know each other better.

Friday, the way I saw you smiling at me…the way I smiled back…the way we looked at each other. I felt something. I just wonder if you felt it too.

Leave a Reply

